Raft the Game: Owlaf the Castaway.

Waking up this morning, I found myself adrift. First thought was, “oh man, how do I get myself into these situations?” Thankfully I have a handy dandy hook on a rope, so I can start gathering things I need, like all those floating bits of wood planks and plastic bottles. Must have been one hell of a party… but that’s just how the video game starts.

I only just recently noticed that the game got and update, and turned out to be the mother of all updates to Raft the Game. It’s 1.0, which means it’s no longer considered an early access game and is now official. Realizing this, I read the notes, and I recalled my old raft game and how big the little floater had turned out. I wanted to reexperience the build up, and also see how long it took and at what stages the new stuff came in to play. New game it is, then.

I recalled a game called Grounded and the time they introduced smoothies into their game, and it seems to be a trend because now Raft is featuring smoothies as well. I even got a recipe already, possibly from a floating box or barrel, or maybe from a cache at the ocean floor near am island, I can’t remember. I just haven’t gotten around to making an actual blender in the game yet. Kinda hard to think of smoothies when I’m fighting off a hungry shark while trying to expand my Raft and gather resources… but at least I have some crates of my own, and I’m stockpiling fruits for the time being.

As I expand my Raft, I came upon the blueprints for the radio and receivers, but I haven’t built them yet. If memory serves, I’d have to build them on elevated parts of the Raft. Not doing that just yet though. I finally got the large anchor in place on my Raft, and I’m slowly building the components for the radio. I got the three antennas built, so now I just have to craft the receiver itself. And all the while, I’m trying to get as much wood as I can. My new large plot with the palm tree growing should help.

And then I saw one of the new features of the full release of the game. I was on a large island, the kind that pop up from time to ti.e that has a screecher flying around and the occasional warthog or two. I found something new that caught my eye. A small building, lit with Christmas lights it seemed. Approaching it showed that nobody was home, but the cash register seemed to be working. This was one of those new features, a trader, so to speak. Browsing the menu, I could see what I could purchase and what I could sell, though I could do none of those yet. I would have to come up was the new currency, apparently I have to present some wrapped up salvage of some kind.

Right… comin’ back for you…

Meanwhile, I’ll clean ocean to the best of my ability. Last notes to share is I got glimpses of aquatic wildlife in my latest play through; jelly fish group, a pod of 3 dolphins, and at least 2 sea turtles. Good times.

Looking forward to exploring more and progressing the complete quest line.

Published by: Owlaf

I am an artist. I like to write and draw. I read books and I love movies. My current favorite video games are The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, World of Warcraft, Starcraft 2, Portal 2, and Black & White 2, and Tron 2.0 Favorite TV series would have to be The Office, M*A*S*H, Futurama, and Smallville, Some I have on DVD. I previously worked in a pizza place, a retail store, and a coffee house in the past 10 years, about 3 years per place give or take. Now I wanna do something else but I don't know what. I did go to Louisiana Technical College for the subject "Graphic Communications/Desktop Publishing" aka Graphic Design I guess, and all I really learned to make from that are ads that you're bound to find in your newspaper or phonebook. I did try getting a job doing such but with no success. As such, I feel like I'm lost as far as what I wanna do.

Categories Raft the GameTags, , Leave a comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.